Saturday, July 08, 2006

2005 AMD Honors and Awards Banquet, Orlando, Presided by Wing Kam Liu, Chair

A highlight of the Applied Mechanics Annual Dinner, of the ASME International Applied Mechanics Division, is to reward distinguished members for their contributions to the field of applied mechanics.

The Mission of the Applied Mechanics Division
The Division of Applied Mechanics strives to foster the intelligent use of mechanics by engineers and to develop this science to serve the needs of the engineering community. Areas of activity cover all aspects of mechanics, irrespective of approach, including theoretical, experimental, and computational methodology. The field of mechanics, which is the study of how media responds to external stimuli, includes fundamental analytical and experimental studies in:

Biomechanics, Composite materials, Computing methods, Dynamics, Elasticity, Experimental Methods, Fluid dynamics, Fracture, Geomechanics, Hydrodynamics, Lubrication, Mechanical properties of materials, Micromechanics, Plasticity and failure, Plates and shells, Wave propagation, other related fields.

The Applied Mechanics Division is one of the oldest and largest divisions of ASME. Professor Stephen P. Timoshenko, first Chairman of the division, and others founded the Division.

The Awards of the Applied Mechanics Division
  • Young Investigator Award
  • Applied Mechanics Division Award
  • Daniel C. Drucker Medal
  • Warner T. Koiter Medal
  • Timoshenko Medal
Description of these awards, along with nomination forms, can be found at the AMD website. In addition, funding is being raised for a new Award, the Thomas K. Caughey Medal.

The following is a collection of photos of the 2005 winners taken at the Applied Mechanics Annual Dinner.

Professor George Haller of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology recently received the Young Investigator Award for his outstanding achievements in Applied Mechanics.
Professor Haller’s work focuses on nonlinear dynamical systems theory. Some of his numerous contributions to the field of Applied Mechanics includes the development of the energy-phase method, which is used to predict chaos in nonlinear systems, and a proof of a general criterion concerning detection of flow separation. Haller has written over fifty scientific papers. He was also named the Albert Szent-Gyorgyi Fellow in 2003 and continues to be an important contributor to the scientific community. You can read a previous entry on him in AMR.

Professor Lakshminarayanan Mahadevan of Harvard University received the Young Investigator Award for his research in nonlinear and nonequilibrium phenomena in continuum mechanics. Mahadevan’s work focuses on exploration both through experiments and theory. Observing the mechanical behavior of living and nonliving things in the everyday world, Mahadevan truly enjoys “to discover the sublime in the mundane” and through science, find the hidden truths of commonplace objects. Mahdevan has written around 70 papers concerning his work. Other honors of his include the Society of Engineering Science Young Investigator Medal (2000) and the Visiting Miller Research Professorship at Berkeley (2005-2006). You can read a previous entry on him in AMR.

Professor Carl T. Herakovich of the University of Viriginia recently received the Applied Mechanics Division Award for his significant contributions to mechanics of fibrous composite materials. Herakovich has researched a variety of composite materials including boron-epoxy, carbon-epoxy, and alumina-porous alumina fibers in a nickel matrix. He has made new discoveries on edge effects in certain materials, and has written over 130 papers to date. Herakovich formed the NASA-Virginia Tech Composites Program and has been a consultant for the National Materials Advisory Board of the National Academies for the last two years. You can read his acceptance speech delivered at the Applied Mechanics Annual Dinner.

Professor Robert Taylor of the University of California, Berkeley, received the Daniel C. Drucker Medal for his contributions to computational solid mechanics, and most notably, for the development of software for the purpose of calculating inelastic response of structures. Taylor has written over 300 works, many concerning applications of the finite element method. Taylor has elected for membership in the U.S. National Academy of Engineering for his significant contributions in computational mechanics. In addition, among numerous other honors, Taylor received the IACM Gauss-Newton Congress Medal in 2001.

Professor Raymond Ogden of the University of Glasgow received the Warner T. Koiter Medal for his outstanding achievement in the field of solid mechanics, more specifically, for his contributions in nonlinear elasticity. He has published over 170 articles and books has furthered research in areas such as the biomechanics of soft tissue and the influence of finite strain on the propagation of waves and vibrations in elastic solids. Ogden has been the editor of the IMA Journal of Applied Mathematics for the past decade and is now a member of the editorial board of the Quarterly Journal of Mechanics and Applied Mathematics.

Professor Grigory I. Barenblatt of the University of California, Berkeley received the Timoshenko Medal for his significant achievements in applied mechanics. Barenblatt’s innovation helped him form a new idea, the Barenblatt tip, about the finite material cohesion at the tip of the fracture. This new integration of cohesion with fracture became a milestone in the theory of fracture. This and other theories created by Barenblatt have made him the indisputable world leader in fracture theory. He has also made contributions in the study of porous media equation. Barenblatt’s book called “Theory of Fluid Flows through Natural Rocks” explains the problem of removal of oil from natural reservoirs and is used around the world by the petroleum engineers. You can read his acceptance speech delivered at the Applied Mechanics Annual dinner, along with a piece by Xanthippi Markenscoff.


Post a Comment

<< Home